CFPB To Convene Field Hearing Tomorrow in Milwaukee About Student Loans

  • Email
  • Print
  • Printing Articles

    1. Click here to print!
    2. ...or print directly from your browser by choosing File > Print... from the menu or by pressing [Ctrl + P]. Our printer-friendly stylesheet will make sure extraneous website stuff isn't printed.
    3. You're done!

    Close this message.

  • Comments
  • RSS

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) will convene a public field hearing tomorrow in Milwaukee, Wis. to discuss student loans. The field event will feature remarks by CFPB Director Richard Cordray, followed by a panel discussion with consumer groups and industry representatives.

insideARM will monitor the hearing and report developments.

Originally announced on April 29, here are the additional details released today:

The hearing begins at 10:00 a.m. CDT/11:00 a.m. EDT, Thursday, May 13, 2015 and will be held live at the Wisconsin Center,  400 W. Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, Wis. 53203. The field hearing will also be streamed live at consumerfinance.gov.

 

SCHEDULE:         

10:00 a.m. CDT/11:00 a.m. EDT Opening Remarks

Zixta Martinez, Associate Director of External Affairs, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Ted Mitchell, Under Secretary, US Department of Education

10:05 a.m. CDT/11:05 a.m. EDT Remarks by CFPB Director

Richard Cordray, Director, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

10:30 a.m. CDT/11:30 a.m. EDT Panelist Remarks and Discussion

Justin Draeger, President/CEO, National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators

Timothy Fitzgibbon, Senior VP, National Council of Higher Education Resources

Dick George, President/CEO, Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation

Chuck Knepfle, Director of Financial Aid, Clemson University

Deanne Loonin, Student Loan Borrower Assistance Project Director, National Consumer Law Center

Jennifer Wang, Policy Director, Young Invincibles                                                       

11:15 a.m. CDT/12:15 p.m. EDT Audience Testimony 

Open microphone for public participation

12:00 p.m. CDT/1:00 p.m. EDT Hearing Concludes

  • Email
  • Print
  • Printing Articles

    1. Click here to print!
    2. ...or print directly from your browser by choosing File > Print... from the menu or by pressing [Ctrl + P]. Our printer-friendly stylesheet will make sure extraneous website stuff isn't printed.
    3. You're done!

    Close this message.

  • Comments
  • RSS

Posted in CFPB, Collection Laws and Regulations, Debt Collection, Department of Education Collections, Featured Post, Government Receivables, Student Loan Collection News, Student Loan Collections .

×
Subscribe to our email newsletters

Continuing the Discussion

We welcome and encourage readers to comment and engage in substantive exchanges over topics on insideARM.com. Users must always follow our Terms of Use. Also know that your comment will be deleted if you: use profanity, engage in any kind of hate speech, post an incoherent or irrelevant thought, make a point of targeting anyone, or do anything else we find unsavory. Your comment will be posted under your current Display Name, shown below. If you'd like to change your Display Name, you must update it on the My Profile page.

Leave a Reply